Skip to main content

Adding and removing users to Matter in Slack

Add or remove members by adding or removing them from the Matter-connected Slack channel. The web app syncs with Slack every 24 hours.

Written by Brett Hellman

To add or remove users (members) in Matter, or to delete a member who has left, simply add or remove them from the Matter-connected Slack channel. There is no separate member list to edit in Matter.

Who can use this: Workspace Owners and Admins on every plan. Slack only. Using Microsoft Teams? See Adding and removing users to Matter in Microsoft Teams.

For an overview of the whole feature, read the Matter setup and rollout guide for Slack.

You can use Slack's Default Channels feature to automatically add new Slack workspace members to your Matter-connected Slack channel. If someone leaves the company, simply remove them from your Slack workspace, and they'll be automatically removed from Matter. Alternatively, you can bulk add people to Slack by copying and pasting emails; see Slack's Help Article.

Important Note: Our web app syncs with Slack every 24 hours (once a week on the Free plan). During this sync, we add/remove channel members to the Web App workspace.

If you add someone to the channel and you don't see them in the Web App, you'll need to wait 24 hours for the API sync, or you can email us at support@matterapp.com for faster assistance.

Note: You may need to be a Slack Workspace Owner/Admin to add or remove users in a Slack channel.

The Members tab of a Slack channel's settings with Add people and the Remove links highlighted

Did this answer your question?